Dennerby unveils Nigeria's Africa Women Cup of Nations squad

Defending champions Nigeria have named their squad of 21 for the upcoming Africa Women Cup of Nations, which kicks off in Ghana later this month.

Reigning Africa Women's Footballer of the year Asisat Oshoala headlines a strong selection for the 10-time champions that includes Desire Oparanozie, Francisa Ordega, Rita Chikwelu and Onome Ebi.

2018 Young Player of the Year Rasheedat Ajibade of Robo FC is set to make her maiden appearance at the tournament after making coach Thomas Dennerby's selection.

Ugochi Emenayo and Ogonna Chukwudi were the two players cut from the Super Falcons' provisional squad of 23 who are currently at the world renowned ASEC Mimosas FC Academy in Abidjan in an eight-day camp.

Nigeria have been drawn in Group B alongside South Africa, Zambia and Kenya and will begin their campaign against Banyana Banyana on November 18 at the Cape Coast Sports Stadium.

The team will play all three group-stage matches in Cape Coast.

Nigeria have won the last two successive tournaments, and will be aiming to retain their title and secure one of the three available FIFA Women's World Cup tickets.

Team List

Goalkeepers: Chiamaka Nnadozie, Christy Ohiaeriaku, Tochukwu Oluehi

Defenders: Onome Ebi, Osinachi Ohale, Glory Ogbonna, Josephine Chukwunonye, Ngozi Ebere, Faith Michael, Sarah Nnodim

Midfielders: Ngozi Okobi, Anam Imo, Halimat Ayinde, Rita Chikwelu, Amarachi Okoronkwo

Forwards: Asisat Oshoala, Desire Oparanozie, Rasheedat Ajibade, Chinwendu Ihezuo, Francisca Ordega, Chinaza Uchendu

Head Coach: Thomas Dennerby