Four and counting: Numbers behind Srikanth's Australian Open win

Robertus Pudyanto/Getty Images

India's Kidambi Srikanth defeated Chen Long on Sunday to win the Australian Open Superseries, becoming the first Indian man to win two consecutive Superseries titles.

Here are some of the key numbers from Srikanth's win:


Srikanth is now the only player to defeat Lin Dan and Chen Long in his maiden Superseries final against them. The Indian beat then World No. 1 Lin 21-19, 21-17 in the 2014 China Open final for his first Superseries Premier title. Srikanth beat World No. 6 and the reigning world and Olympic champion Chen 22-10, 21-16 to win his maiden Australian Open title.


This is Srikanth's fourth Superseries title overall and second this year after the Indonesia Open. He also won the China Open in 2014 and the India Open in 2015.


Srikanth, with four titles, is the second-most successful Indian in Superseries events, after Saina Nehwal (10) and ahead of PV Sindhu (2).


Srikanth's three Superseries finals is the most by a men's singles player this year, having also won his maiden Indonesia Open title and finished runners-up at the Singapore Open. World No. 3 Lee Chong Wei is next best with two finals, at the All England Open and the Malaysian Open.


Srikanth's position on the all-time list of male Superseries title winners. The players to have won more titles than Srikanth are Lee Chong Wei (45), Lin Dan (21), Chen Long (18), and Sony Dwi Kuncoro (5) and Chen Jin (5) tied on fourth place.


Srikanth has now won 10 matches on the trot en route to winning titles in Indonesia and Australia. Only B Sai Praneeth has a longer winning streak in men's singles this year, the Indian claiming victories in 11 straight matches on the way to winning the Singapore Open and the Thailand Open.


This is the first calendar year where three Indians have won four out of the six Superseries events held so far. The Indian players' tally began with PV Sindhu's win over Carolina Marin at the India Open final, followed by B Sai Praneeth's win over Srikanth at the Singapore Open. Srikanth then went on to win the Indonesia Open and the Australian Open, beating Kazumasa Sakai and Chen Long in the final, respectively.


With this win, Srikanth will now become the second Indian, after Saina Nehwal, to go top of the Race to Dubai rankings, which are used in the qualification for the Dubai World Superseries Finals -- where the top eight players in each discipline qualify to compete in the season finale.