UST players dominate individual awards in UAAP basketball

University of Santo Tomas dominated the top individual awards in the UAAP Season 82 seniors' basketball tournament as Soulemane Chabi Yo and Grace Irebu earned the Most Valuable Player (MVP) honors while Mark Nonoy was named Rookie of the Year (ROY) in the men's division.

Chabi Yo made an immediate impact in his maiden year with the Tigers, powering his team to the Final Four for the first time since Season 78. The Beninese big man collected 76 statistical points (SPs) after averaging 16.9 points, 14.7 rebounds, and 1.3 assists.

Irebu, on the other hand, copped her second straight MVP plum after finishing with 90 SPs built on 21.9 points, 15.1 rebounds, 1.7 steals, and 1.5 blocks. The Congolese center steered the Tigresses to the second seed with an 11-3 slate at the end of the elimination round.

Joining Chabi Yo in the men's Mythical Team are the De La Salle University duo of Justine Baltazar (64 SPs) and Jamie Malonzo (63.23 SPs), University of the Philippines' Kobe Paras (62.08 SPs), and University of the East's Rey Suerte (60.93 SPs).

Irebu tops the women's Mythical Team composed of Adamson's Mar Prado (86 SPs), National University's Jack Animam (78.57 SPs), Far Eastern University's Claire Castro (66.64 SPs), and La Salle's Kent Pastrana (57 SPs).

Pastrana also secured the top rookie plum for her impressive debut season for the Lady Archers.

The awarding ceremonies will be held on November 20 before Game 2 of the men's basketball finals at the Mall of Asia Arena.

Chabi Yo's feat comes 10 years after the last Growling Tiger, Dylan Ababou, won the same award.