History made: June Mar Fajardo wins MVP award for fifth straight year

Fajardo's MVP highlights Leo Awards (4:02)

June Mar Fajardo was the biggest winner of the 43rd PBA season Leo Awards after racking up a historic fifth straight MVP. (4:02)

BOCAUE, Bulacan - There's no stopping June Mar Fajardo from reaping major awards one season after another.

Despite missing a huge chunk of the Governors' Cup last season due to a shin injury, Fajardo still went on to make history and hoisted his record fifth straight MVP award during the PBA Leo Awards on Sunday at the Philippine Arena.

Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio had four MVP award during their legendary careers.

The 6-foot-10 slotman beat out Stanley Pringle, Japeth Aguilar, and Paul Lee in the MVP race. Pringle wound up as the statistics leader but failed to lead NorthPort to a playoff appearance in each of the three conferences.

"First of all, I want to thank God for all the blessings. Who would have thought that someone who was once a laughingstock will become a five-time MVP?" Fajardo said in Filipino.

"I'm lucky to be with San Miguel. My teammates were great. I'm thankful for my teammates, coaches, and the SMB management."

Fajardo also showed his defensive prowess by making the All-Defensive team along with Gabe Norwood, Rafi Reavis, Rome dela Rosa, and teammate Chris Ross.

Meanwhile, Jason Perkins emerged as the top newbie after bagging the Rookie of the Year award. The former La Salle big man beat Jeron Teng, Robbie Herndon, Rey Nambatac, and Raymar Jose.

Perkins was a steady presence down low for the Phoenix Fuel Masters, who made the semifinals of the season-ending conference last year after getting a boost from Calvin Abueva and import Eugene Phelps.

Scottie Thompson was hailed Most Improved Player. The former NCAA MVP all-around brilliance was in full display the entire season, highlighted by his performance during Ginebra's Commissioner's Cup campaign where he won Finals MVP.

The members of the Mythical First team were Pringle, Fajardo, Lee, Aguilar, and Marcio Lassiter, while Thompson, Mark Barroca, Arwind Santos, Poy Erram, and Matthew Wright comprise the second mythical team.

Norwood won the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.