SMB, TNT, Blackwater confirmed for East Asia Superleague Terrific 12

Multi-titled PBA squads San Miguel Beer and TNT KaTropa along with the Blackwater Elite will represent the Philippines in the 2019 East Asia Super League Terrific 12 slated September 17-22 at Macao's Tap Seac Multi-sports Pavilion, the EASL announced Saturday.

Five-time PBA Most Valuable Player and Gilas mainstay June Mar Fajardo banners the Beermen, along with veteran stars Arwind Santos, Alex Cabagnot, Marcio Lassiter and Chris Ross.

The KaTropa will have Jayson Castro, Troy Rosario and Roger Pogoy taking the lead, while rookie Bobby Ray Parks, Mike DiGregorio, Allein Maliksi and Mac Belo banner Blackwater.

The Ryukyu Golden Kings, who swept the tournament last year, will be back to defend their crown, along with three other Japanese squads in Chiba Jets, Niigata Albirex and Utsunomiya Brex.

"We've received tremendous support from the basketball community in Asia and Macao, and we're excited to bring this event back this year and showcase the best talent and clubs that Asia has to offer," said Asia League Limited's CEO Matthew Beyer in an official press statement.

Three Chinese professional squads Liaoning Flying Leopards, Shenzhen Aviators and Zhejiang Guangsha Lions have also confirmed participation. The Jeonju KCC Egis and Seoul SK Knights complete the 12-team cast, representing the Korean Basketball League.

Each team is allowed to tap two reinforcements.

A total of 16 games will be played starting from the group stage, followed by the semifinals and culminating in the championship round.

The Group Stage will be divided into four groups of three teams each, with each ballclub playing two games. The top team from each group will advance to the semifinals with the two survivors facing off in a one-game Finals.

The 2019 Terrific 12 champion will take home USD 150,000, while the runner-up can pocket USD 100,000. The third-place finisher still gets USD 50,000.