New shot clock regulation highlights PBA rule changes for 2020 season

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) will adapt new rules for the upcoming 2020 season. One of the most notable rule changes is the league's decision to amend their regulations with regards to the operation of the shot clock.

The league will now adopt the shot clock rules currently used in FIBA tournaments and in the NBA. Here is the exact quote of the approved rule change in regards to the shot clock:

RESETTING/START OF SHOTCLOCK - All team possessions that will be inbounded on the front court, the shot clock will be at FOURTEEN (14) SECONDS.

In the last two (2) minutes, if a team asks for a timeout and opted to inbound in the front court, shot clock will be only FOURTEEN (14) SECONDS. If the inbound is on the back court, the shot clock is at TWENTY FOUR (24) or whatever time is remaining on the shot clock.

The shot clock will start when a live ball is touched or legally touched by a player on the playing court.

Other rule changes include an added provision for "snatching the ball" during deadball situations, substitutions during a 30-second time out, tweaks to the imposed fines and penalties for flagrant and technical fouls, and the referee's hand signal for the instant review.

The rule changes were made under the auspices of the PBA and a four-man competition committee, which is made up of head coaches Leo Austria, Caloy Garcia, Nash Racela, and Louie Alas. According to PBA deputy commissioner Eric Castro, the goal is to quicken the play and make the game more exciting.

The PBA opens its 45th season on Sunday with a clash between defending Philippine Cup champions San Miguel Beermen and finalists Magnolia Hotshots Pamansang Manok at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum.