Phoenix's RJ Jazul named Mr. Quality Minutes by PBA Press Corps

Veteran guard RJ Jazul and the thrilling Philippine Cup bubble quarterfinals match between Phoenix Super LPG and Magnolia will have their share of the limelight in the coming PBA Press Corps virtual Awards Night.

Jazul, 34, and team captain of the Fuel Masters, was named Mr. Quality Minutes for his immense contributions coming off the bench, while Phoenix's 89-88 come-from-behind win to oust the Hotshots in the playoffs is the unanimous choice for the Game of the Bubble by the men and women who regularly cover the PBA beat.

The two-in-one awards night that will also have the 2019 awardees being recognized, is set on March 7 at the TV5 Media Center and presented by Cignal TV.

The 5-foot-11 Jazul averaged 11.0 points, 2.3 rebounds, and 2.1 assists in 17 games during the lone conference last season. He registered a career-high 33 points, spiked by nine three-pointers, in the Fuel Masters' 110-101 win over five-time champion San Miguel Beer to clinch a berth in the quarterfinals.

The Fuel Masters, the no. 2 seed, also made their presence felt in the playoffs following their memorable comeback victory against the seventh-seeded Hotshots, which Matthew Wright capped by hitting a running triple in the final 9.8 seconds.

Jazul and the Phoenix-Magnolia game are part of the distinct bubble awards to be handed out in the event to be shown on PBA Rush on March 8.

Earlier announced as part of the honor roll list are CJ Perez (Scoring Champion) and the All-Rookie Team (Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido).

Perez, the former NCAA MVP out of Lyceum, averaged 24.4 points during the all-Filipino conference last year while still with Terrafirma, to lead the league in scoring for the second straight season. He normed 20.8 points as a freshman that saw him run away with the Rookie of the Year honor and a place in the Mythical Team.

Still to be named are the Outstanding Coach of the Bubble, Mr. Executive, President's Award, Top Bubble D-Fender, the All Bubble D-Fenders, and a special citation.

Meanwhile, 2019 Baby Dalupan Coach of the Year Leo Austria of San Miguel and Danny Floro Executive of the Year PBA Chairman Ricky Vargas lead the honorees the previous season that also include Presidential Awardee Vergel Meneses, mayor of Bulakan, Bulacan and one of the PBA's 25 Greatest Players, and Defensive Player of the Year Sean Anthony of NorthPort.

Completing the 2019 batch of honorees are Sean Anthony (Defensive Player of the Year); Terrence Romeo (Mr. Quality Minutes); June Mar Fajardo (Order of Merit); NorthPort vs. NLEX (Game of the Season), Perez, Robert Bolick, Bobby Ray Parks Jr., Javee Mocon, and Abu Tratter (All-Rookie Team); Kiefer Ravena, Christian Standhardinger, Beau Belga, Vic Manuel, Arwind Santos, and coach Yeng Guiao (All-Interview Team); and PBA D-League Finals MVP Thirdy Ravena (Aspirants' Cup) and Hesed Gabo (Foundation Cup).