Topley called up by England Under-19

Reece Topley took seven wickets on his first Championship outing Bipin Patel

Reece Topley has been included in an England Under-19 squad for the first time, and is part of a 14-man group to play seven Youth ODIs against South Africa this summer.

A product of the Graham Gooch Essex Cricket Academy, the 17-year-old left-arm seamer made his first-class debut in April and after an eye-catching start to the season signed a one-year contract with the county.

Kent allrounder Adam Ball, who captained the side in two games on their trip to Sri Lanka earlier this year, has been retained in the leadership role and is one of a number of players who have impressed for their counties this season.

His team will take on a strong South African side captained by Keaton Jennings, with the first match of the tour at Edgbaston on July 16 and further fixtures in Northampton, Arundel Castle in West Sussex, Taunton and Canterbury.

"Selecting this squad was a very challenging process because of the large group of outstanding players available," said Tim Boon, the England Development Programme Head Coach. This series provides valuable opportunities for our talented young cricketers to accelerate their learning and progress in world class environments in both competition and training.

"South Africa will provide us with tough opposition throughout the summer and vital experience on our journey to the Under-19 World Cup in Australia next summer.

"England Development Players are both challenged and supported by a highly specialised management team to take players to the edge of their capabilities in learning to win games of cricket including areas such as game strategy, leadership, mental toughness and athleticism required at the highest level," he added. "We want players to take responsibility for their performance and to play with confidence and freedom as they strive to win games of cricket for England."

England Under-19 squad Adam Ball (capt), Daniel Bell-Drummond, Peter Burgoyne, Ben Foakes, Gavin Griffiths, Brett Hutton, Aneesh Kapil, Sam Kelsall, Tom Knight, Jamie Overton, Adam Rossington, Shiv Thakor, Reece Topley, Sam Wood