Ireland announce squad to face Australia

Heather Whelan will captain Ireland for the first time when they face Australia in the first of three one-day matches at Leinster on Friday, 29th July. Clare Shillington has been included in the squad but dropped as captain, following a disappointing World Cup campaign where Ireland came bottom of their group, having failed to win a match.

Whelan, a medium-fast bowler, has played 24 internationals since making her debut in 1997 and will lead the side out at her home club against the World Champions, Australia, who will be expecting to roll their hosts over. The other matches in the series are to be played in Dublin on Sunday 31st July and Monday 1st August.

Admission is free for all matches.

Ireland squad Heather Whelan (capt), Nicki Coffey, Emma Beamish, Caitriona Beggs, Jo Day (wk), Cecelia Joyce, Barbara MacDonald, Cira Metcalfe, Clare Shillington, Jill Smythe, Jill Whelan, Marianne Herbert.