South and Central zone teams for Inter-Academy tourney

Vikram Kumar of Tamil Nadu will lead the South Zone Academy in the inter-academy cricket tournament to be held in Bangalore from June 28 to July 2.

The other members of the team are: AT Rayadu (Hyderabad), ASK Verma (Andhra), Stuart Terrence Binny (Karnataka), Suman (Hyderabad), Vinay Uthappa (wicketkeeper, Karnataka), Rafi Vincent Gomes (Kerala), Senthil Kumar (Karnataka), DT Kumaran (Tamil Nadu), PAVN Raju (Andhra), Sher Bahadur Yadav (Goa), Chetan Willams (Karnataka) and Nalin Reddy (Hyderabad).

SV Lazarus (Karnataka), HT Sudhir Rao (Karnataka) and Sankar (Andhra) will be the South Zone players in the Combined team which will also take part in the five day tournament. The Combined team consists of three players each from the five zones.

Alind Naidu of Vidarbha will lead the Central Zone team in the tournament. The other members of the team are: Anshul Kapoor (vice captain, UP), Shivakant Shukla (UP), Rahat Elahi (UP), Sunil Upadhyay (UP), Arvind Mann (Rajasthan), Afroz Khan (Rajasthan), Monish Mishra (MP), Naman Ojha (MP), Ambalal Patidar (MP) and Surinder Singh (Railways). Coach: Kailash Gattani (Rajasthan).

Altogether six teams will vie for honours in the tournament to be played on a group league basis. The teams will be divided into two groups and the group champions will meet in the final on July 2.