Team Secret announces new roster, including MP, MidOne, Forev

Pyo "MP" No-a (left) and Lee "Forev" Sang-don (right) played for MVP Phoenix at The International 2016. Michael Hanson for ESPN

After much speculation, Team Secret announced its new Dota 2 lineup today. The new additions are: Pyo "MP" No-a, Yeik "MidOne" Nai Zheng, and Lee "Forev" Sang-don. They will be joining the two Team Secret members remaining on the roster, captain Clement "Puppey" Ivanov and support player Johan "pieliedie" Åström. Team Secret also announced that longtime coach, Theeban "1437" Siva as well as Kurtis "Aui_2000" Ling, who coached the team during The International 2016, will also no longer be with the organization.

MP and Forev, formerly of MVP Phoenix, will be reprising their roles as the carry and offlane and MidOne, formerly of Fnatic, will play in the middle lane. The three players will replace three Team Secret members whose departures were recently announced, including Jacky "EternaLEnVy" Mao, Artour "Arteezy" Babaev, and Sam "BuLba" Sosale.

Both Arteezy and BuLba came into Team Secret amid a mountain of controversy. Arteezy was a major part of the exchange that led to the departures of both Aliwi "w33" Omar and Rasmus "MiSeRy" Filipsen, while BuLba was the replacement for Saahil "UNiVerRsE" Arora after his sudden team switch to Evil Geniuses. The recent version of Team Secret with EternLEnVy, Arteezy, and BuLba had little success with only a second-place finish in StarLadder i-League StarSeries Season 2 as the highlight. The team finished a disappointing 13-16th place (last place) at The Manila Major 2016 and The International 2016.

This announcement comes as the first roster lock deadline for the Fall Major approaches on September 4. After the fourth, teams will only be able to add players and not drop them until September 18.