Equatorial Guinea sanctioned for fielding ineligible players

AP Photo/Michael Probst, file

The Equatorial Guinea team will no longer be able to qualify for the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019 after the country's football association was sanctioned by the FIFA Disciplinary Committee for fielding ineligible players and falsifying documents.

FIFA initially imposed sanctions against Equatorial Guinea in April 2016 after it was found that 10 players who participated in the preliminary rounds of the Women's Olympic Football Tournament Rio 2016 were ineligible to represent the country.

They are Ana Lucia Nascimiento dos Santos, Mirian Silva da Paixao, Adriana Soares Parente, Dulcia Maria Davi, Bruna Amarante da Silva, Ana Cristina da Silva, Jumaria Barbosa de Santana, Vania Cristina Martins, Carolina Conceicao Martins Pereira and Adriana Aparecida Costa.

Further investigations were conducted and on Thursday FIFA confirmed that the country has been expelled from qualification of the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019. The Equatorial Guinea Football Association was also handed a fine of CHF 100,000.

Additionally, two other players who participated part in the preliminary competition of the Women's Olympic Football Tournament Rio 2016 for Equatorial Guinea -- Muriel Linda Mendoua Abessolo and Francisca Angue Ondo Asangono -- were found to have falsified documents and each handed 10-match suspensions.