Goa confirmed as single venue for ISL 2020-21

The ISL 2019-20 final was held at Goa's Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. Ron Gaunt / SPORTZPICS for ISL

The Indian Super League (ISL) has confirmed Goa will host all the matches of the 2020-21 season which starts in November. The seventh edition of the league will be held behind closed doors at three venues in the state: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Fatorda, GMC Athletic Stadium in Bambolim and Tilak Maidan Stadium in Vasco.

The Football Sports Development Limited (FSDL) recently concluded a recce of the available infrastructure in Goa and has drawn up plans to undertake upgradation of pitches, drainage systems, floodlights, dressing rooms and other infrastructure at the three stadiums, according to the ISL release. FSDL will be working closely with the Sports Authority Of Goa, Goa Football Association and the state administration to ensure a safe and secure season, the release added.

The ISL also said that the FSDL wishes to provide individual training pitches to each club and that ten such pitches have been identified in the state of Goa, which will see upgrades over the next month before handing it over to the respective clubs.

The upcoming season will see Mohun Bagan make their ISL debut as the newly formed ATK Mohun Bagan FC following their merger with former Kolkata franchise ATK. It will also be Mumbai. The AIFF had last month said that the I-League will also be held in a similar si