2020 MLS Cup playoffs: Who's in, fixtures, results, final date and key info

Just 'flip a coin' to pick an MLS Cup winner in 2020 (2:08)

Kasey Keller and Herculez Gomez try to identify the favorites to go the distance in the MLS Cup Playoffs. (2:08)

The 2020 Major League Soccer regular season is in the books, so now its playoff time! Below is the postseason schedule, which concludes with MLS Cup on Dec. 12.

- MLS highlights, debate on FC Daily (stream on ESPN+; U.S.)
- Stream LIVE games, replays on ESPN networks (U.S.)

Postseason format

The play-in round will see two single-elimination games featuring the 7-10 seeds in the Eastern Conference.

Information is subject to change All times Eastern.

Eastern Conference play-in round

Nov. 20:
(8) New England Revolution 2-1 (9) Montreal Impact
(7) Nashville SC 3-0 (10) Inter Miami CF

Round 1

Nov. 21 :
East: (4) Orlando City SC 1(6)-1(5) (5) New York City FC
East: (3) Columbus Crew SC 3-2 (6) New York Red Bulls

Nov. 22:
West: (1) Sporting Kansas City 3(3)-3(0) (8) San Jose Earthquakes
West: (4) Minnesota United FC 3-0 (5) Colorado Rapids
West: (3) Portland Timbers 1(7)-(8)1 (6) FC Dallas

Nov. 24:
East: (2) Toronto FC 0-1 (7) Nashville SC
East: (1) Philadelphia Union 0-2 (8) New England Revolution
West: (2) Seattle Sounders FC 3-1 (7) LAFC

Conference semifinals

Nov. 29:
East: Game 1: (4) Orlando City SC 1-3 (8) New England Revolution
East: Game 2: (3) Columbus Crew SC 2-0 (7) Nashville SC

Dec. 1:
West: (2) Seattle Sounders FC vs. (6) FC Dallas (9:30 p.m.; FS1/FOX Deportes, TSN, TVA Sports)

Dec. 3:
West: (1) Sporting Kansas City vs. (4) Minnesota United FC (8 p.m.; FS1/FOX Deportes, TSN, TVA Sports)

Conference finals

Dec. 6:
East: 3 p.m.; ABC/ESPN Deportes, TSN, TVA Sports.
Dec. 7:
West: 6:30 p.m.; FS1/FOX Deportes, TSN, TVA Sports.


Dec. 12:
8 p.m. ET; FOX, UniMas//TUDN, TSN, TVA Sports


The coronavirus-affected 2020 Major League Soccer regular season ended with Decision Day on Nov. 8, as the Philadelphia Union won its first Supporters' Shield and playoff places were set for a postseason that begins on Nov. 20 and concludes with MLS Cup on Dec. 12.

On Oct. 29, MLS announced that playoff positions will be awarded on the basis of points per game; games cancelled due to the coronavirus and other factors mean that some clubs will finish the season having played fewer matches than others.

- Postseason clinching scenarios (via MLS)
- MLS points-per-game standings | Schedule | Statistics

Clinched playoff places

Eastern Conference (1-6 qualify straight to Round 1, 7-10 have a play-in game):

1 Philadelphia Union, 2 Toronto FC, 3 Columbus Crew SC, 4 Orlando City SC, 5 New York City FC, 6 New York Red Bulls, 7 Nashville SC, 8 New England Revolution, 9 Montreal Impact, 10 Inter Miami CF

Western Conference (eight teams qualify directly to Round 1):

1 Sporting Kansas City, 2 Seattle Sounders FC, 3 Portland Timbers, 4 Minnesota United FC, 5 Colorado Rapids, 6 FC Dallas, 7 LAFC, 8 San Jose Earthquakes

Eliminated from contention

Eastern Conference:

Chicago Fire, Atlanta United, D.C United, FC Cincinnati.

Western Conference:

Vancouver Whitecaps, LA Galaxy, Real Salt Lake, Houston Dynamo.