2019 Liga BBVA MX, Apertura 2019 - Finals
  • Stefan Medina (45'+1')
  • Rogelio Funes Mori (90'+3')
  • Carlos Rodríguez (45' OG)
  • Francisco Córdova (53')
1st Leg
1st Leg

Epic golazo gives Monterrey leg up in Liga MX final vs. Club America

A spectacular overhead kick from Rogelio Funes Mori late in second-half injury time earned Monterrey a 2-1 victory over ten-man Club America in the first leg of the Liga MX 2019 Apertura final.

Club America goalkeeper Guillermo Ochoa produced a fine save from Monterrey's Vincent Janssen with time running out, but Argentine Funes Mori scored one of the goals of the season in Mexico to hand Rayados the advantage for the second leg.

An own goal from Carlos Rodriguez in the 45th minute handed America the lead, but Stefan Medina leveled just a minute later, although the game turned in the 53rd when America winger Sebastian Cordova was sent off for a high and late tackle on Leonel Vangioni.

The first half was littered with a total of 18 fouls and the physical battle was winning out over flair, but the game's intensity grew, culminating with Funes Mori's spectacular strike and players pushing and shoving on the final whistle.

Monterrey enjoyed the more dangerous spells of possession, but it was Club America who opened the scoring, when Henry Martin held the ball up and played Uruguayan Vinas through on goal. Vinas' resulting shot beat keeper Marcelo Baravero and Monterrey midfielder Carlos Rodriguez sliced an attempted clearance to put the ball into his own net.

The home side responded swiftly through Colombia international Medina, who latched onto to a free-kick, controlled and scored. The play was originally ruled offside, but a lengthy VAR delayed eventually showed Medina was just onside.

Monterrey struggled to create with a player advantage and started to get frustrated, with America looking comfortable in seeing the match out.

The return leg will be played on Sunday in a sold-out Estadio Azteca, with the away goals rule not in place. America is going for its 14th Liga MX title, while Monterrey is currently on four and looking for its first since the 2010 Apertura.