Saurabh Chaudhary - Manu Bhaker win mixed team silver at Osijek World Cup

Manu Bhaker and Saurabh Chaudhary. ESPN.in

Saurabh Chaudhary and Manu Bhaker continued their impressive run in the 10m air pistol mixed team event to win silver at the ISSF World Cup in Osijek, Croatia on Saturday. This is the last event before the Olympics and the Indian duo will be confident of their chances in Tokyo after an impressive display here.

Bhaker and Chaudhary lost 12-16 in the final to the reigning world champions, Russia's Artem Chernousov and Vitalina Batsarashkina in the gold medal match. The Indians did well to draw level at 12-12 before the Russians won the next two series to emerge triumphant. Chaudhary had previously won a bronze in the men's 10m air pistol event at the tournament, while Bhaker had finished seventh in the women's 10m air pistol event.

This is India's third medal at the tournament and Bhaker's second medal as well as she won bronze in the women's 10m air pistol team event with Rahi Sarnobat and Yashaswini Singh Deswal.

Deswal and Abhishek Verma narrowly missed out on a medal as they finished fourth in the mixed team event after losing the bronze medal match 7-17 to the Iranian duo of Javad Faroughi and Golnoush Sebghatollahi.

This is Bhaker and Chaudhary's first silver in the mixed team event at the World Cup. They had previously won five golds as a pair in this event at each of the previous five World Cups.

Earlier, Chaudhary and Bhaker had topped the first qualification round with a total of 587, with the Russian (586) and Iranian (583) pairs finishing second and third respectively.

The Russians then won the second qualification round with a tally of 390, while Bhaker and Chaudhary shot 387 to finish second and progress to the gold medal match. They were closely followed by Deswal and Verma (386) and Faroughi and Sebghatollahi (385), who finished third and fourth respectively to progress to the bronze medal match.

In the medal matches, the four shooters take one shot each in the duration of 50 seconds in each series, after which the higher-scoring team earns two points. The team that scores 16 points first wins.