De Vega, nine others set for Philippine Sports Hall of Fame induction

In recognition of their historic sports feats, ten of their generation's most outstanding athletes will be honored by the Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) in the third enshrinement of the Philippine Sports Hall of Fame Thursday at the Philippine International Convention Center.

Asia's fastest Woman Lydia de Vega of athletics shares the spotlight with bemedalled bowlers Paeng Nepomuceno, Bong Coo and Lita dela Rosa, Filomeno "Boy" Codiñera of baseball and softball, golfer Benjamin Arda, Loreto Carbonell and Ambrocio Padilla of basketball, Josephine dela Viña also of athletics and Erbito Salavarria of boxing.

PSC Chairman William Ramirez will lead the awarding rites as the selection committees's chairman, along with PSC Commissioners Arnold Agustin, Ramon Fernandez, Celia Kiram and Charles Maxey.

Representatives of gone sports icons Arda, Codiñera, Carbonell, Dela Rosa, Padilla and Dela Viña are also invited to receive their respective awards.

"This is one of the best opportunity that we have, to pay tribute to our great athletes. For all the glory they gave to the country, they deserve this recognition," said Ramirez. "We also hope that they would be able to inspire our youth, be a role model to the children."

The elected Hall of Famers will receive an incentive worth P100,000 and a trophy to commemorate their enshrinement.

This is the third time the PSC will honor Filipino sports legends.