PFL to restart domestic league season with seven clubs

Let's try this again.

The Philippines Football League (PFL) will kick off the country's domestic league season on May 25 with a seven-club roster.

The league made the announcement through its social media accounts on Tuesday.

The mandate to run this year's domestic league returned to the PFL after a myriad of issues plagued the Philippine Premier League (PPL), the operator tapped by the national federation, forced it to fold its operations after just one playdate.

Issues that hounded the PPL, most notably club licensing disputes, have smoothed over ahead of the restart of this year's domestic season.

The Philippine Football Federation (PFF) granted provisional club licenses to the Philippine Air Force FC and Mendiola FC 1991, the two clubs whose licensing applications were denied during the PPL's short-lived run.

Previously licensed clubs are reigning league champions Ceres Negros FC, Kaya FC Iloilo, Stallion Laguna FC, Green Archers United FC, and Global Makati FC.

All licensed clubs, including Air Force and Mendiola, confirmed their participation after a league meeting last Friday.

The fixture list, venue, broadcasting details, and ticketing information have yet to be released by the PFL.