Only four positions to be filled in POC elections on July 28

The Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) has confirmed that only four positions will be filled in its elections on July 28.

In a special board meeting at the POC office in Pasig Monday morning, members of the executive board upheld the resignations of Ricky Vargas (president), Abraham "Bambol" Tolentino (chairman), Jesus Clint Aranas and Cynthia Carrion (board members).

The four had submitted a written resignation to the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

Monday's meeting featured 7 of the 13 members of the Executive Board, a quorum. On hand were First Vice Pres. Joey Romasanta, Second Vice Pres. Jeff Tamayo, Auditor Jonee Go, IOC representative Mikee Cojuangco-Jaworski, and board members Roberto Mananquil and Prospero Pichay. Treasurer Julian Camacho meanwhile attended the meeting through video conference.

Romasanta, as the highest-ranked member of the Executive Board, presided the affair.

Vargas, Aranas, Carrion, and Tolentino were asked to abstain due to their resignations while Charlie Ho, and Patrick Gregorio were requested not to attend due to their own dispute over the Secretary-General position.

There were two resolutions approved in the meeting, according to Mananquil, namely the calling of an extraordinary general assembly on July 18 at the Manila Golf and Country Club at Forbes Park in Makati, and the creation of an election committee to oversee the process.

The presider of the said assembly will be only determined there, according to Mananquil.

Nominated were former Commission on Elections Commissioner Rene Sarmiento; Fr. Victor Calvo, O.P., of Colegio de San Juan de Letran; and a representative from the Philippine Dispute Resolution Center, a non-government organization that the POC had an agreement with to help solve internal disputes.

Both resolutions are expected to be ratified in the general assembly.

In accordance with the letter sent by the IOC and the Olympic Council of Asia last July 4, a representative, one from each organization, will come as observers for both the extraordinary general assembly and the elections.

Once the resolutions will be ratified, the members of the election committee will work hand-in-hand with Membership Comm. Chairman Robert Bachmann and Romasanta to lay down the guidelines and qualifications of the candidates.

After a short campaign period, 45 members will vote for the next leaders of the POC. Their successors will serve the remainder of their predecessor's term, set to expire in 2020.

Mananquil, who is the secretary-general of the Billiards Sports Confederation of the Philippines, assured that the SEA Games will push through as planned.

"We are coordinating with PSC and PHISGOC in relation to hosting," said Mananquil. "The SEA Games is there, we will not back out."