Cignal HD Spikers take Invitational Conference bronze medal

F2 Logistics Cargo Movers claim spot in finals (3:46)

The F2 Logistics Cargo Movers clinched the last ticket to the 2019 PSL Invitational Conference finals after outlasting the Cignal HD Spikers in four sets, 22-25, 25-22, 25-21, 25-21. (3:46)

The Cignal HD Spikers took home the bronze medal in the 2019 PSL Invitational Conference after sweeping the Foton Tornadoes, 25-22, 25-15, 25-17, Thursday at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City.

The HD Spikers had to complete a come-from-behind win in the opening set before taking control in the next two periods for the victory.

Roselyn Doria led the scoring with 11 points built on six spikes, three blocks, and two aces. Rachel Anne Daquis also played a key role with 10 points, nine coming from attacks. Alohi Robins-Hardy contributed 10 points on top of 14 excellent sets.

"They have motivation after what happened in their previous games," Cignal head coach Edgar Barroga said. "They wanted to prove that they should have been in the championship, that's why they played that way."

From an 8-all deadlock in Set 2, the HD Spikers launched eight unanswered points, highlighted by aces from Alohi Robins-Hardy and back-to-back hits from Mylene Paat, to make it an eight-point ballgame. An ace from Mumay Vivas extended the lead to as high as 11 before Janine Marciano delivered the finishing blows.

Cignal carried over the momentum in Set 3. While trying to catch up from a 7-4 deficit, Foton's CJ Rosario got stretchered off the court after hurting her knee following a quick hit. The HD Spikers cruised to a 20-12 cushion before Ivy Perez's ace and Jovelyn Gonzaga's kill sealed the deal in the endgame.

Marian Buitre paced the Tornadoes with nine points, while Mina Aganaon added seven points, 14 digs, and five receptions.

"We're still happy. Even if we didn't reach the championship, at least everybody still showed what we worked hard for," added Barroga.

Cignal capped off the 2019 season with a pair of medals, securing the bronze after a silver medal finish in the All-Filipino Conference.